Poetry Corner

Lost in the house of a friend..

The-Definition-of-Child-Abuse-and-Its-Sanctions

The day my mama left me  in the house was a cold, cold day,

Came through the back door, forcing all entries, his persuasions were beyond funny,

It’s not so funny what kids do for a candy,

My mama left me in the security of a room, walls stretching with pain, and reeking of fear

Hastily, left me in the arms of a friend who wasn’t so friendly,

A promised ring and stuffed cupboards, keeps lips sealed over any observation that I was intruded,

My complaints were muffled and wrapped with threats,

The day my mama left me was a cold, cold day,

Gave me toys he said he just wanted to play,

The game ended where I became lost,

Lost on that cold, cold day

Written by Laurna Guiste

May the perpetrators and traitors of child abuse be exposed,

4 thoughts on “Lost in the house of a friend..”

Leave a Reply

