Poetry Corner

Coloured Women

Coloured Women
Strength tracing back to my ancestral background,
Harness in my legs, having to march for my freedom, what a past,
Sold! to the highest bidder, mistakes with the interracial forming a mix of colours,
But I am coloured,
Skin, kissed by sun rays,
Courting till the end of the day,
I am brazen, looking younger than my age,
With hard palms and achy knees
I am woman,
Full lips, narrow eyes,
Large hips and plump thighs,
No add on, no disguise,
I am woman,
Coloured and proud.

Written by Laurna Guiste

2 thoughts on “Coloured Women”

Leave a Reply

