Poetry Corner

Tribute to Dominica part 1

Natural, hair comb back in castor oil, cekac, bananas, and coconut, all that wrap up in, my roots, They call me Watukubuli, as the caribs boast of my body, I am tall, but my hips spread wide, as I hold Massacre and Castle Bruce to my side, no I won’t sit back I will arise, for I am 35, Independent, no time for non-sense, woman am I. But so many have taken me for a ride, alas, as I strive to be free, I feel bound by mental slavery, setbacks in my personal development, so much I want to see, done in me. I am so beautiful, doesn’t the world see, with my eyes of beauty, so much beauty and splendor, my water cascading to endless shores’ I am Nature Isle, top in the Caribbean. I am Dominica, Nature Isle of the Caribbean.

Leave a Reply

